Relent

Part of my goal with this whole blogging scenario is to be as real as I can be; not attempting to mud-sling on my own life and make everyone feel sorry for me, but also not attempting to make life look perfect and wonderful, because it’s not. No one’s is.

So, because of the above, a confession must be made.

We no longer hand-wash our laundry.

(Pause).

(Sigh).

(Gasp).

I know. Our cool-homestead-couple points went down a lot, didn’t they?

But let me share with you the vibe recently. I’ve written about how we do laundry before. And we made a few adjustments to make it not so annoying, but it was the basic same setup I wrote about back in the spring.

Daniel and I work on a farm. Now, I know you all think farmers just sit around and play on the computer all day, but quite the opposite is true. On any given day, there is quite a large amount of detritus that can end up on your clothes.

Tomato Resin. Pig mud (which could include…. you know. poop.) Dirty sheep hairs. Sand. Mud from the field from hours of weeding on your shins and knees.

Sometimes, we come home and I can picture a mother from the 1940s going “Y’all might has well have just gone and rolled with the pigs!”

At first, I really tried hard to keep it up. But we would take our clothes off the line and they would be a bit crispy. Often, the farm clothes would look as if they hadn’t even been washed. And let me tell you, that gets incredibly frustrating when you spent like thirty minutes of active work on them, including pouring boiling water on your foot and ticks crawling on your leg during the process.

But I kept going. Because people know that we hand-wash our laundry! And I can’t let them down! (Even though nobody cares. NOBODY.)

So I tried some other tactics. I tried old-school stomping on the clothes in our metal laundry tub, rinsing them, then washing like we were previously. But that was using a LOT of water, more than traditional laundry machines. So that wasn’t going to work, because we hand-washed to save water.

I was just going to have to get over it. So I kept on fighting the good fight.

But when your clothes crack when you put them on because of the amount of weird sand and grit in them, that maybe has even become more in them because of the nature of handwashing, I knew it was time to stop.

You see, I’ve seen the other interns out here. They were using the main house for laundry. In a washing machine.

At first, I was smug. Oh look at us! We don’t neeeeeeed a tradtional laundry machine. We’re so cool!

But then, in June, my tune changed a little bit. Sometimes I’d be up there, looking at them, moving their freshly laundered clothes out of the washer and into the dryer. Those clothes smelled so good. So clean.

Then, they’d take them out of the dryer, snowy-white and smelling like an angel had laid in them. And I’d stifle a sob and run out of the house, overcome with emotion.

So, we bit the bullet, and are now regular clothes washers.

And guess what. Right now, with so much change and turmoil, it’s really nice to only do laundry once a week and have it come back all fresh n’ stuff.

In the past, I probably would have kept going, because I wanted to impress people with my off-grid lifestyle. But that’s dumb and stupid because I was going crazy.

Living simply can sometimes mean doing what’s simple for you.

So yeah, when we move on from this place and we don’t have a washer and dryer anymore, it will mean going back to hand-washing (and we’ll get cool homesteading points again), because lugging clothing to a laundromat probably isn’t simple.

But it won’t be a big deal, because we won’t have pigs.

Yet.

2 thoughts on “Relent

  1. I always enjoy your thought progressions! at least you’ve built your resume in case you ever want to be a farm-life re-enactor:)

    Like

Leave a Reply

